About us

Programming

Reflecting the broad perspective and interests of its members, the Guild offers a diverse program of some 50 events annually. Each focuses on some aspect of theory, tasting and/or service. They include:

Tastings

  • regular advance tastings of Vintages releases
  • regional and varietal tastings designed to expand participant’s wine knowledge
  • seminars and analytical tastings aimed at advancing the art of wine appreciation
  • co-operative sponsorship of special events with other wine or trade organisations

Wine and food matching events

  • annual events celebrating the seasons such as the Fall Harvest Dinner, the Christmas Dinner, the Spring Dinner, the Mechoui and the Summer Barbecue.
  • periodic dinners, usually monthly, exploring the marriage of wine with diverse cuisines
  • periodic events matching wines with cheeses, smoked foods, desserts, etc…

Courses and clinics

  • clinics for wine novices
  • clinics for developing more analytical tasting skills
  • clinics to review and test wine and food matching principles
  • (upon request) wine Sales and Service Course for Hotel and Restaurant Managers and Servers

Although participation in some of the above events is restricted to Members and in some cases to Trade Members only, most of the tastings and dinners are open to a limited number of guests.

The Guild also fosters professionalism and skill development by offering an annual scholarship and awarding prizes to residents of the national capital region pursuing studies in related areas.

Governance

Elected annually by the members, the Board of Directors is responsible for planning and carrying out the on-going operations of the Guild, while a Council of Governors made up of leaders in the community, provides advice and counsel on overall strategic direction.

Board of Directors

Bill Ellis
President
bill.ellis@sommelierguild.com
This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it
Malcolm Rose
Vice President
malcolm.rose@sommelierguild.com

This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

Robert White
Secretary
robert.white@sommelierguild.com
This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it
Alan Atkinson
Director
alan.atkinson@sommelierguild.com

This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

Marie-France Champagne
Director
marie-france@sommelierguild.com

This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

Ian Duncan
Director
ian.duncan@sommelierguild.com
This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it
Matt Steeves
Director
matts@sommelierguild.com

This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

Rod Story
Treasurer
rod.story@sommelierguild.com

This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

Andrew Travill
Membership
andrew.travill@sommelierguild.com
Sean O’Regan
Director
sean.o.regan@sommelierguild.com
Don Cook
Director
don.cook@sommelierguild.com

Key volunteers

Cynthia Mar
Registrar
events@sommelierguild.com

Dave Isaacs
Webmaster
webmaster@sommelierguild.com
This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

Dawn Harvie
Newsletter Editor
newsletter@sommelierguild.com

Governor emeritus

Michael Botner
Wine writer
Owner
Accounting for Taste B&B

Peter Ward
Wine Consultant
Wine Writer

Council of Governors

Luke Ambridge
District Sales Manager
Atlas Wine Merchants
Stephen Beckta
Owner
Beckta Dining and Wine
Peter Collis
Guild Past Vice-President and Treasurer
Gay Cook
Owner
Mrs Cook’s Food
Food Writer
The Ottawa Citizen
Tim Davis
Guild Past President
Michael Fagan
Manager
Vintages LCBO Knowledge Resources Group
Victor Harradine
Guild Past President
Publisher winecurrent.com
Director, Partnerships and Outreach
Algonquin College Sommelier Program
J. Phillip Nicholson
Guild Founding Member and Past President
Karen Norris
District Manager, LCBO
Veronique Rivest
Sommelier
Halina Player
President, Players Exposition
Daniel Speck
Vice President Sales
Henry of Pelham
Rick Slomka
Canadian Directory
California Wine Institute
Gord Weber
Wine Agent, Colio Estates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s